Harvard-inclined, Crimson-crazy Freshman

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Ivy League Schools: Harvard University: 2004 Archive: Harvard-inclined, Crimson-crazy Freshman
By Jimster0489 (Jimster0489) on Friday, December 26, 2003 - 11:15 pm: Edit

Hi, I'm a freshman in high school. I was wondering if I'm on the right track and am also anticipating some of the advice you all can give!

I took 5 honors HS classes during middle school - which I did semi-poorly in (B average). I am currently at the state's number 2 school. All my classes are honors level, except for of course PE and Chorus. I have a B average. My counselor said that by the time I graduate, I would have had 9 APs under my belt.

Co-curriculars:
- Freshman Class President
- Student Council Executive Board
- Director of Public Relations and co-founder, Desi Club
- Defenseman for the JV lacrosse team
- Junior reporter for the school newspaper
- Captain and founder of the debate team
- Student Director, Peer Listeners program

I would love to play lacrosse during college, does an *Ivy recruit* need more than 4 years at a sport? By senior year, I know I will be phenomenal if I go at the pace I'm going at now.

I am a member of the Midwest Talent Search/Center for Talent Development at Northwestern University. In 6th grade I scored a 1010 and they say that by the time I am a senior I will estimatedly be able to increase my points by 225 on each part meaning I will possibly get a 1460. I know that my class (2007) will be the second class to take the new and revamped SAT so that estimate probably means nothing.