Nothing for a 15-year-old Asian to do.......

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: May 2003 Archive: Nothing for a 15-year-old Asian to do.......
By Aravis (Aravis) on Thursday, April 17, 2003 - 08:42 pm: Edit

I'm a freshman at a public high school in North Carolina. I'm trying to figure out what to do this summer but I really don't have too many ideas.
The thing is I'm Asian, 15 and I can't drive yet. That means my guardian will have to drive me places and she's a very busy person and I'll have to figure out possible time plan.(nowhere too far) Almost everything else I've looked at is either too expensive, for URM's or for juniors and seniors.
Part of my summer will be spent at S. Korea where my parents live. I'll also probably go with my friend to her church camp. I'll be volunteering at several places probably.(library, nursing home) And I'll be tutoring 2nd generation kids how to speak Korean fluently. (I'm bilingual, extremely bc I have lived in both the USA and S.Korea) My guardian also wants me to go to summer school to learn Spanish.
Any ideas?

By Aravis (Aravis) on Thursday, April 17, 2003 - 08:48 pm: Edit

I forgot to add that I'm not really interested in either math or science. I'm more humanities orientated.

By Studiousvegetar (Studiousvegetar) on Thursday, April 17, 2003 - 09:13 pm: Edit

What about taking online courses? You'll learn something, earn credits, and keep busy. You won't have to leave your house!

By Aravis (Aravis) on Thursday, April 17, 2003 - 11:11 pm: Edit

I would but I can't find any online courses for high school students who aren't 16 yet. Any suggestions?

By Autodidact (Autodidact) on Friday, April 18, 2003 - 12:46 am: Edit

Aravis try starting with: http://www.utexas.edu/cee/dec/

By Texas137 (Texas137) on Friday, April 18, 2003 - 01:05 am: Edit

Good suggestion, autodidact. My son has used that distance learning program. We've been very happy with it.