Northwestern, U of Chicago, Pomona

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: March 2003 Archive: Northwestern, U of Chicago, Pomona
By Salah (Salah) on Saturday, March 29, 2003 - 11:18 am: Edit

I haven't heard from Northwestern, University of Chicago, Boston University or Pomona College yet and I was wondering what you all think my chances are of getting in (feeling anxious!) :) My stats are:

- 3.7 GPA at an extremely competitive Catholic high school. 100% of kids at my school go on to college every year. I'm in the top 25% of my class. Unfortunately, I did not do well at all on my midyear report because I've been very sick this year and because I had a lot of personal problems. My counselor explained it, but I don't know if it will be excused or not. I was a National Merit Commended Student (TX). I got to read my teacher and counselor recommendations and they were very, very good. :)
- 1470 SAT I (770v/700m)
- SAT II's: 800 Writing, 700 Literature, 670 Math IC
- AP's: 3 on European History (sophomore year), 5 on US History (junior year), 4 on English Language and Comp (junior year). This year I am taking English Literature, Government, and Chemistry.

Extracurriculars:

- Competitive oboist. I've been playing since I was 7. I'm first chair in my school's symphony orchestra, concert band, and wind ensemble. I also play in a community orchestra. I've been an All-State player every year. I compose my own orchestral music.
- Foreign exchange. I went abroad to Japan with AFS over the summer after my junior year and I studied Japanese in a community college in the years before that because my school doesn't have a Japanese program.
- Tae Kwan Do. I'm a black belt. I've been doing martial arts since I was little. I also do Japanese kendo, but not as often.
- Ballet. I've also been doing this since I was little, although I do not compete competitively. Also did gymanastics. I plan on continuing in college :)