Chance of Admission

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: March 2003 Archive: Chance of Admission
By Ivy___Hopeful (Ivy___Hopeful) on Thursday, March 06, 2003 - 10:55 pm: Edit

Could you please rate my chances for:
Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Columbia, Cornell, U Chicago, and Rice.

3.92 GPA (unweighted)-4.0 if you don't count freshman year.

1540 SAT-790 M, 750 V

SAT IIs: 790 Hebrew, 760 Physics (self-taught), 730 Math IIc, 680 Writing

Took most rigorous curriculum offered at my school (a mediocre public school in southern Louisiana).

ECs: Pres. of Chess Club, Editor of school's Literary Magazine, VP of Mu Alpha Theta (math club), VP of National Honor Society, member of social studies club and quiz bowl team. 2nd degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do.

I am a (white) Jewish immigrant from Israel (came when I was 2.

Nice essays and pretty good recs.
I'm also a National Merit Finalist.
Please rate my chances.

I realize this isn't in the right forum, but this forum seems to have more traffic and more informed posters. Thanks for your forebearance.

By Crazyandy (Crazyandy) on Friday, March 07, 2003 - 04:51 pm: Edit

If you've done volunteering, I think you stand a pretty good chance! :) by the way u a senior this year?

By Ivy___Hopeful (Ivy___Hopeful) on Friday, March 07, 2003 - 08:05 pm: Edit

I haven't done any real volunteering, with the exception of the tutoring I do for the clubs I am involved in.

By Cruelfate (Cruelfate) on Saturday, March 08, 2003 - 12:00 pm: Edit

Ivy___Hopeful,

Tell me more about how being Israeli influenced your college admission stuff. I just moved to FL from Karmiel, Isreal a year and a half ago and I have been dying to meet another Israeli with a similar situation.

By Ivy___Hopeful (Ivy___Hopeful) on Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 09:59 pm: Edit

Cruelfate, email me at g_sirkes@hotmail.com and we'll talk. Shalom ad az.