Fatal flaw or simply human? chances at top-tier schools.

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: March 2003 Archive: Fatal flaw or simply human? chances at top-tier schools.
By wonderin on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 04:34 pm: Edit

Hi--
I'm a model student in every realm except one. Near-perfect on testing (800v/790m/800writing/790lit/770IIC),
most rigorous courses taken (Nat'l AP scholar by the end of senior year, hopefully)-- and leadership in state and nationally recognized organizations.

However, my activities demand so much time that my GPA is merely above-average (3.5 unweighted), and my class rank has suffered accordingly. I know there are students that can juggle everything and still have great grades, but I have demonstrated an upward trend and I really, REALLY spread myself thin--- (a journalism EC demanding 30/40 hours a week, easy) ...

essays and recs are great.

how bad am i hurt?

By la on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 04:53 pm: Edit

bumpity bump

By killer on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 05:25 pm: Edit

what type of school do you go to?

above-average public school, magnet school, parochial/religious school, elite private prep school?

if you go to a super competitive private school (1300+avg sat, 100% olege acceptance, etc.) then you should have no problem getting into really good schools. especially since those schools get you brownie points from admissions officers. but if not, you still hav a shot.

what classes are you taking? is it the most rig curriculum...if you're going for national ap scholar then it probably is.

so no worries, but try to keep the grades up. your guidance couselor or prinicipal can explain the 3.5 away.

By a on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 07:54 pm: Edit