Arrested

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: March 2003 Archive: Arrested
By convict lol on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 01:08 am: Edit

When I was a freshman in high school I was hanging out with the wrong type of kids and ended up getting myself arrested. Since i was a juvenile at the time, i did not get in much trouble, and my record was esponged after a plea bargain.
Since the arrest my life has changed. I found a new group of friends, my outlook on people has changed, and my grades have improved. I am not a junior with a 3.8/4.0 average and a 1410 sat

Would this be somehting i shoudl write about in a college essay since it truley has changed me. Or would i be disclosing info that i shouldnt by doing so

By Mom on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 01:11 am: Edit

Why risk it? Unless the application asks if you've ever been arrested, don't voluntarily offer the information.

By go for it on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 01:17 am: Edit

do it. it will be a great essay topic. that shows that you are really changed by the arrest. the admission officers will understand that you are a changed person and that your a good kid.

By Thedad (Thedad) on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 01:22 am: Edit

I wouldn't do it. In a hyper-picky admissions environment, someone might figure, "Why take the risk?"

As anecdotal support, there's the incident of the marijuana-laced brownie in THE GATEKEEPERS.

By do it on Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 02:58 am: Edit

If this is one of the important moments in your life, in the sense that you have changed very much since the incident, you really should write about it for your essay.