Revealing my essays...your opinion?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: March 2004 Archive: Revealing my essays...your opinion?
By Jolt21 (Jolt21) on Wednesday, March 10, 2004 - 09:54 am: Edit

at first i sent it to Brown for ED, the sent it to all of my colleges in the commonapp as my essay..

Question #6 - In reading your application, we want to get to know you as well as we can. We ask that you use this opportunity to tell us something more about yourself that would help us toward a sense of who you are, how you think, and what issues and ideas interest you most.

I keep a pad and pen right next to my bed. No, it’s not because I’m a compulsive writer, in fact, I’m not too fond of writing at all. It’s actually quite simple. For as long as I can remember, I have tended to devise solutions to problems in the middle of the night. Unfortunately, morning comes and the idea has vanished. So, now my paper and pen are on the right side of my bed on top of my nightstand. Lately I have been stressing over how to properly represent myself on paper to Brown admissions officers, in an essay that I would want to read myself. Lo and behold, last night, October 11, 2003 at 2:21 am, I awoke searching for my pen and paper. The next morning, having completely forgotten what I wrote, I looked at my paper and saw:

10/11 2:21
like all video games
exact opposite
Spider-Man=ME

Yeah, I had the same reaction, what could this gibberish possibly mean? As it turns out, it was a stroke of genius, or at least I thought so.