Proving Claims on Applications

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: February 2003 Archive: Proving Claims on Applications
By Mattymatt (Mattymatt) on Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 12:21 pm: Edit

I know that California state schools are now randomly selecting students to prove their EC's and awards. My question is if they are the only ones to do so. Becuase if they are than what is to stop me from listing 5 fallacious EC's that now that I think about it, I was an officer in, or for that matter just randomly declaring awards. If only University of Califoronia schools check for the truth, than I'm sure many students have done this and suceeded.

By NO!!! on Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 01:32 pm: Edit

PEOPLE WHO DO SO ARE LOSERs AND ARE RUINING IT FOR THE REST OF US!!! Some schools (Yale, for example) have been known to find out about fake or even exaggerated ecs. Here's what usually happens: an admissions officer will contact the school, read the school report, or another student from the school for a random reason. The word will eventually get out. (Example: student fakes a sport and an academic award. Admissions officer reads the school report becuase it's the first applicant from the school. The officer finds out that only intramural sports are offered and the school doesn't given academic awards as a way of discouraging competition. The ecs are proved false.) Or, awkward conversations can ensue if you get in and they send you reps from their model UN club and all you know about model UN is that you faked it on your transcript. DON"T DO IT... it's just not worth it.

By Mattymatt (Mattymatt) on Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 08:48 pm: Edit