Possible Alternative for those with 1200 SAT scores

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: February 2003 Archive: Possible Alternative for those with 1200 SAT scores
By Amin on Tuesday, December 24, 2002 - 08:23 pm: Edit

I am a Canadian student applying to several US schools, but I would like to post some information for those who they are "doomed to attend a community college" according to some posters.

If you have a 1200 score, and are still trying to get a good, sub-ivy league education, I would like to point out there there are some good Canadian schools you may be able to get into to.

Canada has several very good universities in Ontario, for example the University of Toronto is constantly ranked high and has very diverse and successfull programs. It's engineering department is very strong, and one example of its dedication to the future is that it has the first (and perhaps still the only) nanoengineering undergraduate program in North America.

Anyway, I am just trying to point out some alternatives for those losing hope of a 'decent' education.

By Loll on Tuesday, December 24, 2002 - 09:24 pm: Edit

What I wonder is why do you "need" to go to an Ivy in order to have a "good" education? Who says you can't get just as good an education at say, Penn State, as opposed to University of Pennsylvania?

By 2 on Thursday, December 26, 2002 - 02:20 pm: Edit

Um... Penn State sucks. It blows. Jocks rule, classes are huge, and you never talk with your profs. But there are tons of great liberal arts schools where 1200s are acceptable and the education is great.

By dfjg on Thursday, January 16, 2003 - 01:00 am: Edit

RIT, the Rochester Institute of Technology...they accept anyone (literally).

By Pwirth (Pwirth) on Sunday, January 19, 2003 - 01:43 pm: Edit