college admissions financial aid college search scholarships ivy league college counseling ">
UC Essay(Final draft)!!!:)

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: November 2003 Archive: UC Essay(Final draft)!!!:)
By Eliel (Eliel) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 01:54 am: Edit

Is there anything you would like us to know about you or your academic record that you have not had the opportunity to describe elsewhere in this application?

Like Margot Asquith said: “Although I am not stupid, the mathematical side of my brain is like dumb notes upon a damage piano.” Ever since grammar school I have struggled with math. I have always liked school and learning. I am confident with all schools subjects except math. As my academic record shows, math has been my weakest subject.
Ever since I was a young student, I would always be unconfident and afraid when it came to math. Even in high school, I remember hoping the teacher would not call on me to go to the board to share my answer. I have even been criticized and laughed at. Some teachers have even overlooked me in math class. I used to think, "What do we need math for, if we are never going to use it?" This summer I availed myself of a math tutor. Having a tutor has changed my perspective and attitude on math, academics, and life. The more I have struggled with math the more I have come to realize that math is very important and impacts our daily lives, by making things easier and more efficient.