Harvard Additional essay

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: October 2003 Archive: Harvard Additional essay
By Greatsurgeon (Greatsurgeon) on Thursday, October 30, 2003 - 07:07 pm: Edit

This is my harvard additional essay.. its around 800 words... please tell me if you think its any good. thanks~

When I first met Brother Ralph, I was a mere nine years old, and he was an elderly gentleman who attended my church in Edgewood, Maryland. I did not know his full name, nor did I care to. I simply knew him as ‘Brother Ralph’, and to this day, I still do not know his full name. Brother Ralph took an interest in me the first time he saw me. I was a young, chubby, Korean child carrying a yellow barrel half full of spare change, money that my Sunday school was raising to help starving children worldwide. Brother Ralph approached me and gave me all the change he had in his pocket. At the time, I was a numismatic- an amateur coin collector, and I pored over the change he gave me to look for anything of value. I spotted a dirty wheat penny, a not so valuable coin, but it stirred excitement into my naïve heart. Unbeknownst to me, Brother Ralph had seen the whole ordeal, and the next Sunday, he approached me again. Once more, he gave me all the change he had, but this time, he also pulled out a bag of wheat pennies. I had never seen so many wheat pennies in my life, and I was speechless. A man, who hardly knew me, was kind enough to support my hobby. This exchange of coins became a weekly ritual for years.