Matches for me please

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: October 2003 Archive: Matches for me please
By Compewter (Compewter) on Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 05:15 pm: Edit

Hi Iím Canadian (Ontario), and I donít know much about U.S schools. Iíll post my stats, and could you guys give me any recommendationsÖ thanks!

I have a 4.0 (I thinkÖ It is hard with conversions; Like 95 average, which is well over A+ here.)

SAT I -780 Math Ė650 Verbal

SAT IIís in December (Expecting all over 700, maybe over 750 for Math)

Extra-Curriculars:

Grade 9 Chess Nationals
Grade 10 Chess top ten provincials
Ranked top 50th Nationally in chess for all years of high school (eg. ranked top 50th among all grade 12's).
Organizer of chess club at school.

Gr. 11, and 12 varsity soccer player. In grade 12 I was a coach as well as player.
Gr. 11, 12 Indoor soccer.
Iíve played 8 years of soccer for my town. <--Captain for 1 year.
Organizer of Ping Pong club at school.
First Degree Black belt in Taekwondo

Studied abroad 1 month in England

Gr. 10 Science Olympics
Gr. 11 award from school board for mathematics
Gr. 11 scored top percentile on math competition nationally

Iím top 5% ranked, and taking the most rigorous courses.

So what do you guys think? What schools can I go for?

By Crazee8 (Crazee8) on Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 07:51 pm: Edit

Those are great stats! Anyway, your question is rather broad. What do you prefer a liberal arts college or large university? Do prefer the East coast or West Coast? Tell me more about what you are looking for in a college and what you intend to study and I could help you out.

By Compewter (Compewter) on Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 09:04 pm: Edit