Important SAT question!!!!!!!1

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: October 2003 Archive: Important SAT question!!!!!!!1
By Trojan1444 (Trojan1444) on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 12:44 am: Edit

The only time i took the SAT i got a 1460 (740 Verbal, 720 math.)

I studied really hard for the verbal, but not for the math because I assumed I'd do well.

I'm thinking about taking the SAT again just to try and get my math score around or above 760, thus giving me a 1500 composite.

However, my verbal will inevitably go down because I'm satisfied with my 740 and don't want to waste the time studying.

My question is this: If i take it again and get say a 770 Math and 650 verbal, will colleges care that my verbal went down? Or will they just TOTALLY disregard it? I know they SAY that they only look at best verbal and best math, but is this totally true?

By Drusba (Drusba) on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 09:37 am: Edit

Colleges either consider only the highest composite score from a single test or the highest two subscores from multiple tests (in that situation, your SAT score for admission would actually be a 770 Math and 740 verbal in your hypothetical). As the schools declare they only consider the highest scores, you can either take them at their word or worry that they are really intentionally and maliciously lying to everyone and will take points off for a low subscore. Frankly, on this one, I would take them at their word.

By Over30 (Over30) on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 09:48 am: Edit