Dadster,TheDad,MorganTruce-help!Please evaluate my HarvardEA

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: October 2003 Archive: Dadster,TheDad,MorganTruce-help!Please evaluate my HarvardEA
By Gabypa (Gabypa) on Friday, October 03, 2003 - 07:20 pm: Edit

Hello!

I've seen that you guys have extensive experience on college admissions matters, particularly in analyzing those really subjective factors like the essay.

I was wondering, thus, if you could review one essay i wrote for Harvard EA. I'm an international student; therefore, I haven't really been able to have it reviewed by anybody except one person. I wanted to receive as much feedback as possible, for I plan to send this one first next Monday.

It's actually my "most meaningful activity essay" --but it's...hm...different, I guess. And because I'll be sending it first (in addition to it i'll send my personal statement and supplementary essay, only later, though), I wanted to have some sort of third-party opinions about it.

This is the essay I feel less confident about.

Anyway, thank you so much for your help. Just provide me with an e-mail and I'll thank you forever!!!

---Gaby

By Thedad (Thedad) on Friday, October 03, 2003 - 08:26 pm: Edit

Gaby, another parent forwarded your essay to me via e-mail. I'm afraid that I haven't had time to do it justice.

My initial take is that it's *extremely* well written but I also have reservations that it serves your purpose, i.e., convincing an adcom to take you...those are not contradictory observations. However, I want to give it a slow, considered, thoughtful read before fixing my initial reaction in stone. (And I simply haven't had that kind of time as I'm running a four-ring circus between the hs orchestra, the ballet, my work, and D's college app process...we're flying up to Stanford this weekend.)

It's somewhere in my "to do" stack and I'll get to it as soon as possible.