Engineering Question - (Industrial, Operations research, Fin

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: August 2003 Archive: Engineering Question - (Industrial, Operations research, Fin
By Bnp182 (Bnp182) on Saturday, August 09, 2003 - 07:13 pm: Edit

Well, I plan on majoring in engineering and I am not to sure about the differences betwen the majors. I mean, how are the job prospects for coming out of Industrial engineering, Operations Research, Financial engineering, or Management engineering?? How does the workload for these compare to say, Electrical or Mechanical engineering. Also, what are some good schools for these particular engineering majors. Thanks!

By Ariesathena (Ariesathena) on Saturday, August 09, 2003 - 11:24 pm: Edit

I graduated with a chemical engineering degree, so I'll be of limited help... limited because chem-e is pretty much it's own thing.

Industrial engineering is often in the same department as mechanical. I don't know about relative workloads - but, here's my rough guess, in order from toughest to easiest: chemical, computer, electrical, mechanical, industrial, civil... and then you can insert other ones at various places along the chain.

I would recommend Industrial Engineering or op. research over the other two, as they probably don't really prepare you to be an engineer. Job prospects might be better with a "real" engineering degree (not to offend anyone) than a hybrid of engineering and management. Get an MBA if you really want the management aspect, and you will have awesome career prospects.

By Bnp182 (Bnp182) on Sunday, August 10, 2003 - 03:04 pm: Edit

OK, thanks...anyone else

By Baltodad (Baltodad) on Sunday, August 10, 2003 - 03:28 pm: Edit

If you're willing to put in the work, major in mechanical engineering with a minor in business. Not as good as an MBA, but takes less time.

By Gogirl (Gogirl) on Monday, August 11, 2003 - 01:57 pm: Edit