The BEST chance for admissions

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: August 2003 Archive: The BEST chance for admissions
By Crazyandy (Crazyandy) on Saturday, August 02, 2003 - 12:42 pm: Edit

Hi there,

I am a very qualified all-around student. The only thing that is low are my ACT scores (24 first time from April). I plan on being an engineering major but I realize that engineering students are very competative when it comes to test scores (28-32 usually). I'm doing some prep and am showing good progress, but to tell you the truth i don't care much for test scores so I'm just shooting for at least a 25 at the moment.

Two of the top schools i plan on applying to are the University of Michigan and the University of Illinois-UC. These two schools have an average ACT of abou 30 for engineering students. However, I thought of an idea.

I notice that kids applying to liberal arts departments at those 2 schools have lower ACT scores (25-27) which is more in my range. My grades are over the middle 50% so I look significantly stronger when applying to those departments. Do you think its possible to put down that I am applying to the college of Arts and Sciences for example, get in, and by the time schedueling comes say I decided to be an engineer? How about going in "undeclared," getting admitted and then say that I want to be an engineer? Is this possible? I've heard of kids doing it but im not sure how they faired. Do you think if I do one of the 2 things i said I could get into those 2 schools any easier? Thanks all!

By Xyz155 (Xyz155) on Saturday, August 02, 2003 - 02:37 pm: Edit