Are ECs and sports REALLY important???

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: July 2003 Archive: Are ECs and sports REALLY important???
By Perpendicular (Perpendicular) on Friday, August 01, 2003 - 10:28 pm: Edit

Everone says that ECs and sports and leaderships are very important in college admissions... espcially the IVYs... I am an intl student and I really want to go to one of the IVYs but I hardly have any of the above.... There's only 11 ppl in my class there's no need to have a "leader"... I hate sports... As for the ECs... I play piano and sketch.... I do have some pretty good drawings that I can send to the colleges... (but they have nothing to do with my intended major) I am doing IB and I donno if CAS counts for ECs... (by the way, is tutoring a kinda EC too?)
Since I hardly have any... I hope that strong IB and SAT scores will be enough... I've also heard that having strong tendency towards a specific major helps to boost one's chance to be admitted... Do you guys think if I tell the schools that I am 200% sure about my future major (Biology, that is) and enumerate all the reasons and write a comprehensive study plan (or during interviews), it will help me to be accepted?

My current SAT status:
SAT I : taking in Oct. aiming for 1450+
Bio M 730
Math IC 800
Writing: taking in Nov. aiming for 700+

I am aiming for a 40 in IB.
Higher Level subjects are: Math, Eng B and Bio.

--a prize in the National (China) Biology Competition for high school students.
--a certification for playing piano... 7th level (10th is the highest)

I will be a senior soon and I really really need your advice and suggestions.... thanx... ^_^

By Emma (Emma) on Saturday, August 02, 2003 - 09:25 am: Edit