Have you ever tutored?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: December 2003 Archive: July 2003 Archive: Have you ever tutored?
By Special_Foreign (Special_Foreign) on Monday, July 14, 2003 - 09:37 pm: Edit

i'm 16 years old and i'm a peer tutor at my high school. i want to make a couple of bucks and stop asking my parents for money every time i go to the movies or something of the like. the thing is i really can't get a job working in a grocery store or something similar because it takes too much time and i'm busy with studies and extracurricular activities. i was thinking of tutoring for money, but the problem is that i dont know how to start. do i just put up posters, hand out flyers, or what? since most of the people here are in college or close to graduating from high school i imagine that some of you must have done tutoring for money some time in your life. again i'm just wandering how you got started. i think it will be a pretty good opportunity. thanks again.

By Texas137 (Texas137) on Monday, July 14, 2003 - 09:53 pm: Edit

What subject(s) are you interested in tutoring?

By Techieguy (Techieguy) on Monday, July 14, 2003 - 10:02 pm: Edit

I tutored this year and I will be tutoring next year. It is good money, I make $30 an hour :)

I was lucky, ask teachers (possibly middleschool ones as well) if they need students who want tutoring. Parents ask their teachers to have someone tutor their kids, and the teachers find some high school student to tutor for them.

I was lucky, the ESL teacher at my school knew I was a good student and just asked me one day if I wanted to tutor someone out of the blue. Also, my Latin teacher gets high school students to tutor freshmen and middleschool students.

Other people I know got tutoring jobs from guidance counselors, you could possibly try them too.

By Lame (Lame) on Tuesday, July 15, 2003 - 06:45 am: Edit