Help a New Zealand student with US college admissions!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: December 2003 Archive: July 2003 Archive: Help a New Zealand student with US college admissions!
By Jason (Jason) on Thursday, July 10, 2003 - 02:13 am: Edit

Hi,

I'm a student in my final year of high school in New Zealand, and I plan to apply to college in the US. I'm currently deciding which colleges to apply to, and I'd like your help if possible.

Let me describe the type of student I am: my primary interest is the maths and sciences, but I'm also interested in French, History, and possibly English, and I plan to take these sorts of courses in college.

Here is my current short list of colleges:
-Stanford
-Harvard
-Pomona
-Carleton

and possibly
-Dartmouth
-Cornell
-Brown

Do you think these schools are right for me based on my academic interests? Are there any other colleges that you think might interest me? As you can see, I don't have any safety schools yet.

Secondly, what do you think my chances are at getting accepted into these sorts of colleges - here are my stats: (I know that this belongs in the "What are my chances?" area, but it's all related to I'll keep it in the same post).

Subjects: I'm sitting the IB diploma:
-English A (HL)
-Physics (HL)
-Chemistry (HL)
-Maths (HL)
-French B (SL)
-History (SL)

I don't know what my predicted score is, but I would guess that it would be about 42-44.

My grades are usually A's, but I do get the occasional B for History or French (we get grades four times a year). In NZ, the grades are usually lower, so a B is not as big a deal here as it is in the USA.

SATs: 1530 (M: 780, V: 750) - sat in December 2002, going to retake in November 2003
SATIIs: Writing: 800, Physics: 800 - I'm sitting Math IIC in October 2003. I'm a HL Maths student, so I'm expecting quite a good score.

Extracurricular Activities: