Dave Berry, Thedad anybody else who are experts at this busi

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: May 2003 Archive: Dave Berry, Thedad anybody else who are experts at this busi
By Aravis (Aravis) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 09:20 pm: Edit

OK, I know I've posted this before and I've got some very helpful replies but there are still some gaps so I thought I'd ask again.
I'm a freshman at a public high school in North Carolina. I'm trying to figure out what to do this summer but I really don't have too many ideas.
The thing is I'm Asian, 15 and I can't drive yet. That means my guardian will have to drive me places and she's a very busy person and I'll have to figure out possible time plan.(nowhere too far) Almost everything else I've looked at is either too expensive, for URM's or for juniors and seniors.
Part of my summer will be spent at S. Korea where my parents live. I'll also probably go with my friend to her church camp. I'll be volunteering at several places probably.(library, nursing home) And I'll be tutoring 2nd generation kids how to speak Korean fluently. (I'm bilingual, extremely bc I have lived in both the USA and S.Korea)
I'm not really into math or science, more humanities, I love reading.
I'm probably also going to take an online lanugage course for my own self-study. My high school won't accept online credits.
Any ideas what else I could do?
Thanks!!

By Fender1 (Fender1) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 12:29 am: Edit

Sounds good. If you want to "enhance your college resume" but can't fit into ECs, try studying for APs on your own that you can take next year.

By Texas137 (Texas137) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 12:42 am: Edit