SOS, URGENT!!!!! I need help here!!!! Please help!!!!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: May 2003 Archive: SOS, URGENT!!!!! I need help here!!!! Please help!!!!
By Nsk (Nsk) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 09:23 pm: Edit

I am a community college transfer applicant. My major is Civil Engineering, and I have been accepted to both Cornell and Berkeley (out-of-state). I have been awarded full tuition scholarship at Cornell (which is a about 30K), and they have told me that I can cover the remaining 11K with a combination of Federal Sub(5500), Perkins(2470), and Work Study(2190). One the other hand, Berkeley has awarded me 12K in grants, and they told me that I can cover the remaining 20K with a combination of Work Study(3000), Fed Sub(2625), Parents Plus(12810), and Perkins(2100).

Can anyone please tell me which one should I choose?

I appreciate your comments in advance.

By Mrworried (Mrworried) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 09:26 pm: Edit

You should definetely choose Cornell. Not only is the tuition package better, Cornell is also better than Berkeley in Engineering.

By Quarky (Quarky) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 10:04 pm: Edit

Cornell

By Nsk (Nsk) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 10:16 pm: Edit

Thank so much for your help

By Lethalfang (Lethalfang) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 11:15 pm: Edit

Hmm, I doubt Cornell is better than Berkeley in engineering.

By Morgantruce (Morgantruce) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 12:24 pm: Edit

Glad to hear you're not a prospective business major (only kidding)-- on the basis of comparing only the figures you stated, Cornell wins hands down. Generalizing a bit, in Berkeley your parents have to go in the hole nearly $13K each year... and at Cornell they do not. I would guess that your parents have already noticed this little item---and may have offered their thoughts on the matter. Even though YOUR debt might be higher, it's still a better deal.