Cornell or Berkeley: Please Please Help

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Admissions: 2002 - 2003 Archive: May 2003 Archive: Cornell or Berkeley: Please Please Help
By Nsk (Nsk) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 09:03 pm: Edit

I am a community college transfer applicant. My major is Civil Engineering, and I have been accepted to both Cornell and Berkeley (out-of-state). I have been awarded full tuition scholarship at Cornell (which is a about 30K), and they have told me that I can cover the remaining 11K with a combination of Federal Sub(5500), Perkins(2470), and Work Study(2190). One the other hand, Berkeley has awarded me 12K in grants, and they told me that I can cover the remaining 20K with a combination of Work Study(3000), Fed Sub(2625), Parents Plus(12810), and Perkins(2100).

Can anyone please tell me which one should I choose?

I appreciate your comments in advance.

By Mzinn (Mzinn) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 09:28 pm: Edit

Would you pay resident tuition at Berkeley for your second year?

If those figures are for the next 2 years then I'd take Cornell.

By Quarky (Quarky) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 10:05 pm: Edit

Yeah, Cornell is a better deal both academically and financially.

By ~the_Chosen~ (~the_Chosen~) on Saturday, May 03, 2003 - 11:09 pm: Edit

Cornell, their financial aid will be more consistent and also better.

By Cru (Cru) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 09:01 pm: Edit

Cornell...
Although I like Berkeley just as much if not more

By Jumbo (Jumbo) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 09:38 pm: Edit

cornell.

By Moreau1985 (Moreau1985) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 09:51 pm: Edit

Tell me how cornell is BETTER academically? Thats absurd. Just because UCB, isn't a private school, doesn't mean its better academically. Average GPA at Berk this year was a 4.3 GPA...Berekely in my book, regardless of what US NEWS says, is easily a top 5 school in the nation.

By Cru (Cru) on Monday, May 05, 2003 - 09:56 pm: Edit