"Help an international student choose his colleges" #9999

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: "Help an international student choose his colleges" #9999
By Goc9000 (Goc9000) on Thursday, August 12, 2004 - 10:02 am: Edit

Hi folks !

I'll get straight to the point: I'm an international student that wants to apply for a college as an undergraduate and I would greatly appreciate any help in choosing some competitive/safety colleges to add to my list. My major is somewhere in the CS area, but I'm yet undecided as to what my exact major will be.

I was looking for two kinds of colleges: 'competitive', i.e. colleges with a good CS program (and thus expensive) that are reasonably likely to admit me, and 'safety' colleges, i.e. smaller institutions that are quite likely to admit me (in the event of not being admitted in any comp. college), have lower costs, but (obviously) a less prestigious academic program...

A key problem is that being an international student, I am going to need all the financial help I can get, which obviously lowers my chances of admission. I would like to be able to work to cover some of the costs, so job opportunities are an important factor.

As for 'college life'... I'm not in the position to be overly pretentious about this... As long as it's not insanely competitive and unfriendly, it will do...

A very crude list of colleges I was told I should 'check out' is as follows:
- Stanford U
- Yale U
- Cornell U
- Vanderbilt U
- Drexel U
- Rose-Hulman IT

My stats:

SAT I: 790 Math, 800 Verbal
SAT II: 800 MathIIC, 800 Physics, 710 Writing :(
TOEFL: Not taken yet, but expecting a good score... Tell me if the English used in this post indicates otherwise... :D

Academic: