American Interested in Applying to a UK Universtity

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: American Interested in Applying to a UK Universtity
By Neobez (Neobez) on Monday, August 09, 2004 - 08:06 pm: Edit

Hey guys, Oxford and Cambridge are probably out of my reach, but I'm wondering if you knew of some other good schools in England and how I would go about applying to them? If you could put down the top 5 schools in England.

I am an IB student, so I guess that helps me in applying to foreign universities. I don't have my predicted scores yet, just IB Spanish SL (5) from this past year. Hopefully I'll break 35 with the tok/ee.

I know Oxford and Cambridge base admissions conditionally on a student's ability to reach a certain diploma score.

So how would I go about applying to foreign unis? Are they any good with aid?

Since they base admissions on scores which come out in july, if I put in the 200 deposit in an american school on May 1st, can I later choose not to attend w/ no repercussions?

Thanks for any help.

By Txmommtpbd (Txmommtpbd) on Monday, August 09, 2004 - 08:50 pm: Edit

I don't know anything about the rankings of UK universities but my son did go to graduate school at the University of Newcastle because of their graduate program in Archaeology. We went through the standard US process (PLUS and Stafford loans) for funding because none was offered by the university to non-EU students.

Regarding deposits to American schools, it's very likely that you will lose your deposit if you withdraw your acceptance after May 1. Check with each school; most include this statement in their acceptance letters but would probably tell you over the phone now.

Hope this helps. TX Mom

By Takeheart (Takeheart) on Monday, August 09, 2004 - 09:09 pm: Edit