College Recs for Future in Optometry

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: College Recs for Future in Optometry
By Anovice (Anovice) on Monday, August 09, 2004 - 10:28 am: Edit

I've come to realize that although I think I could get through engineering as an undergrad, I would not be happy with that as a career and I should therefore not waste my time and energy going through it. So, here I am, looking at schools with accelerated pre-optometry programs or biology/health administration programs. My stats are as follows:

ACT: 28 (recently got back June scores and although I got the same composite, I got a 32 in english, 31 in math. On a previous exam I got extremely high in science... I am thinking that I will take it again in September and see if I can combine these scores onto one exam.)
GPA: 4.7 weighted(unweighted ~3.93)
Relatively difficult courses(incl classes during senior year which I plan to take) 5 Math(through AP Calc), 4 english(2 AP), 5 science, 4 history(2 AP), 2 computer programming, 3 foreign language(latin 1,2,german 1), 2 arts(1 AP), and various other electives. Also enrolled at a local college where I've taken some math and sciences classes(5 total).

Extracurriculars: partial list

Student Liaison to the board of education(which also includes top SGA position at school, member of county SGA board)
National Honors Society Vice President
Key Club Vice President
National art honors society member
softball & fieldhockey (1yr varsity, 2yr JV)
assistant coach on adult community softball team
many hours of volunteer work with a disabled softball team
employed at local gym ~3 days a week
mock trial member
captain of computer programming team
...many more