Good engineering schools

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: Good engineering schools
By Avinash_Agrawal (Avinash_Agrawal) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 12:44 pm: Edit

hi guys..im an international student and am looking to major in engineering.
which good engineering schools give atleast full tution scholarships to international students??
thanx

By Geodude666 (Geodude666) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 12:53 pm: Edit

If you have the stats, you can try MIT which is need blind to internationals. Other than that, there aren't any full tuition scholarships schools for internationals, and if there was they wouldn't be very good.

By Avinash_Agrawal (Avinash_Agrawal) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 01:09 pm: Edit

MIT is too competitive...nevertheless i'll try for it....
how about need based aid? is that available at good engineering schools? if ya, then which ones?

By Geodude666 (Geodude666) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 01:43 pm: Edit

There is rarely any need based aid for internationals. Any money the universities set aside to aid internationals is in extreme competiton. What are your stats?

By Takanawajoe (Takanawajoe) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 06:12 pm: Edit

Rensselaer (RPI) in Troy, NY.

I got $76K merit money over 4 years and I graduated from high school in Tokyo with dual USA/French nationality. SAT was a little better than you and GPA was 3.5+ junior year. I am very good in physics (710 SAT II) and scored 5 in high IB so I placed out of first year courses at RPI.

You will fit in fine there.

By Avinash_Agrawal (Avinash_Agrawal) on Friday, August 06, 2004 - 12:43 pm: Edit

thanx guys...here are my stats...

SAT I - 590 V 710 M (retaking in oct)
SAT II - taking in nov (writing, physocs and IIC)
Rank - top 10%/85
GPA - 92% ...we dont have gpa's

EC's
-play drums
-school life guard
-senior prefect at high school
-editorial board member at school science magazine