For exchange student - UCD or UIUC?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: For exchange student - UCD or UIUC?
By Fishy (Fishy) on Wednesday, August 04, 2004 - 09:38 am: Edit

I'm a student in Australia and I'm thinking of going on exchange to US next year.

Because I can only attend a university that has formed a partnership with my uni here and actually have the course I'm currently doing, I'm pretty much left with either UC Davis or University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign.

(UCLA does have the course, but since it's quite competitive and the living cost in LA is quite high, I'm putting that aside right now.)

In terms of its location and atmosphere, which uni would be a better choice?

Thanks!

By Alexandre (Alexandre) on Wednesday, August 04, 2004 - 10:01 am: Edit

You cannot compare the two schools. They are complete opposites. What do you study and what do you want to get out of your visit?

Illinois: One of the top 5 Engineering universities in the US. Also tops in sciences. It is a prototypical American state university: HUGE, witch great school spirit and a lively party scene. Academically, Illinois is a legitimate top 30 university in America and has a very respectable name both nationally and internationally. Illinois has very cold winters. Although the towns of Urbana Champaign aren't small (combined 100,000) and they are certainly fun and lively, you must realize that the area around the university is rather rural and not that exciting. Even then, the University is located a mere 3 hour drive/train ride from Chicago, one of the nicest cities in the US, so if you ever feel like spending a weekend in a big city, you won't have to go very far.

UC Davis: Huge and beautiful campus in sunny California. It has good academics and a decent campus environment, but not as good as Illinois from the point of view of academics or school spirit.