HELP! HS Courses/Credits & Grades

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: HELP! HS Courses/Credits & Grades
By Lax46 (Lax46) on Tuesday, August 03, 2004 - 01:41 am: Edit

I'm a rising sophomore and I know (or am pretty sure) that my grades will keep me away from a good college. :-( I was part of this program which allowed me to receive credit for coursework completed in 8th grade and it ended up screwing me over because I never knew how important these grades in 8th grade would be used in calculating my GPA and class percentile and will forever grace my high school transcript.

Listed are my courses and grades earned thus far. Next to the course, the first column provides the first semester final grade and the second column provides the second semester final grade. H stands for Honors, R for Regular.

8th:

H Environmental Science B B
H Survey Literature A B
H Algebra B C
H United States History A A
R Computer Info Tech B C

9th:

H Biology A B
H American Literature B A
H Spanish 1 B A
H Geometry C B
H World Studies C A
R Boys’ Chorus A A
R Physical Education 1 A A

I know I'm improving and I am hoping that I will maintain this upward trend. (I suck at math/science in school but those are what I score highest on in standardized testing for some reason.)

My advisor and I composed the following course goal plan for the next 3 years of high school.

10th:

H Chemistry
H British Literature
H Spanish 2
H Adv. Algebra w/ Trig
H Global Issues
R Art 1
R Physical Education 2
[Introductory French at North Park Univ. over summer]

11th:

H Physics
AP English Language
H Spanish 3
H Precalculus
AP Statistics
AP European History
AP Chemistry
[Intermediate French at DePaul Univ. or Northwestern Univ. over summer]

12th:

AP Biology
AP English Literature
H Spanish 4
AP Art History
AP Calculus AB
AP Government & Politics
R Advanced Mixed Chorus