International Student's Essay (comments invited)

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: International Student's Essay (comments invited)
By Avinash_Agrawal (Avinash_Agrawal) on Sunday, August 01, 2004 - 02:09 pm: Edit

hi guys..pls comment on my essay..its a bit on the longer side...but this is my first try ...i'll try to cut it short...any comments are welcome...thanx....

Why do people “fall” in love and not “rise” in love?

I believe that I “rose” in love unlike the traditional idea of falling in love. Like all great things, love is not planned. One cannot foresee that he is falling in love until it has happened. As for me, not only was I unprepared for love, I was not looking for it at all. My busy life, if I may call it, had never allowed me to ponder over the idea of having a girl in my life. However, love happened, and when it did, my life went topsy-turvy.

A carnival in an all girls’ school; compared to the other girls, a not-so-beautiful girl dressed in purple attracted my attention as though I were an iron nail and she the strongest magnet ever made. I did not have the guts to accost her that day and the carnival ended with me just glancing at her innumerable times.

A dance party at my school; the same girl caught my attention. This time I gathered the nerve to ask her for a dance. She cheerfully acceded. Five minutes later, I was standing alone. Till, today I’ve not been able to figure out why I stopped dancing with her.

But, she was in my thoughts every moment after that. I knew I wanted to know everything about her, get closer to her. I had noticed my roommate shaking a leg with her too. He would get me her contact. Her? Who’s ‘her’? Hold on! What was her name? Could I be stupid enough to dance with her and not ask her name? Yes I was!

“Could you get me in touch with that girl you were dancing with?”
“Who? Naina?”
“Umm. Yeah, Naina”