Here are some great admissions tips I'd like to share with y

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: August 2004 Archive: Here are some great admissions tips I'd like to share with y
By Admissionsrep (Admissionsrep) on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 11:27 pm: Edit

First of all, I want to be real clear about what I do: I am an admissions professional at a college prep boarding school. I also assist our two lead counselors as the third college counselor in our college counseling department.

I generally meet the majority of the college reps when they come to our school. I host the dinners they have with our students and I often lead the dialogue that these reps have when they attend our evening Q & A sessions with our students. I have met reps from over 100 different schools in the last three years.

I do not have a caseload of students for whom I am the primary counselor; I serve as the secondary counselor for a few dozen students every year. Most of what I know comes from my boarding school admissions experience which is almost IDENTICAL to college admissions in terms of admissions secrets and in terms of what schools look for. One exception is that US NEWS and World Report wields more influence in the college game, but with the emergence of boardingschoolreview.com, we now have a scorecard that families are using.

Anyway, this post is getting rather lengthy, I am going to list about five underrated keys to admissions and I will elaborate on any of these five that you want to hear my perspective on.

Admissions Underrated Tips

1) Cultivate a personal relationship with the admissions officer. It just breaks our hearts to deny kids that we have gotten to know, who we know want to come to our school. It's one hundred times harder to reject a person than it is to reject an application.