USC financial aid

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: June 2004 Archive: USC financial aid
By Foreigngirl (Foreigngirl) on Tuesday, June 22, 2004 - 07:26 pm: Edit

I know that since USC is a private institution international students also might get financial aid. How does it work? Do only the ones from very poor families get aid or do you have to be a very good student with outstanding stats, does it depend on your parents's income or do you just say you can only pay 20k a year? How does it work? Can anybody help me please??????? .....THANKS

By Kevin720 (Kevin720) on Tuesday, June 22, 2004 - 11:54 pm: Edit

I can't say that I'm an expert on this subject, but from what I've heard, it's much easier for international students to receive merit-based scholarships than domestic applicants. However, they can't qualify for any federal, state, or university need-based financial aid programs.

By Playtothebeat (Playtothebeat) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 02:09 am: Edit

i'm going to USC next year because they gave me TREMENDOUS amount of aid

we are not poor, in fact by "government standards" we are at a decent shape. my parenst make a combined of 70k/year or so, which isn't that bad.

however, my brother is in college right now, and i will be next year, plus we just bought a new house. for next year, USC gave me over 34k in financial aid. that included 28k grant, 2.5k work study, a perkins and stafford loan that basically everyone gets.

not bad, i think :)
my parents only have to pay 7k out of their pocket, probably less cuz i have like 2-3 k in savings already.

By Kevin720 (Kevin720) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 02:22 am: Edit

Playtothebeat-are you an international student? When I said "they" don't qualify for need-based aid, I meant the foreign students.

By Playtothebeat (Playtothebeat) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 02:36 am: Edit