Pick me a college offering financial aid to international st

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: June 2004 Archive: Pick me a college offering financial aid to international st
By Avinash_Agrawal (Avinash_Agrawal) on Saturday, June 19, 2004 - 04:08 am: Edit

please let me know bout colleges that'd be good for me..i'll be applying as an international student and will probably need full funding..

SATs- 1300 verbal-590 math-710
(im taking the SATs again and im confident to do better)
rank in top 10% percent of a class of 100
GPA 92%

interests- writing, community service,music, debating, elocution, swimming, reciptent of 'The International Award For Young People' (Duke of Edinburgh Award)-Bronze and Silver award, Dramatics

By Acennace (Acennace) on Saturday, June 19, 2004 - 08:49 am: Edit

AvinashAgrawal - Your stat is very similar to mine (and I'm also an international student), so it's fair for me to post my acceptance + financial aid status here.

SATs- 1290 verbal-530 math-760
Rank: top 1% (as written in the recommendation by my counselor), class of 96 (?)
GPA 91%

Acceptance:
-UVA, no financial aid
-UW-Madison, no financial aid
-Truman State University, $3000 Presidential Honorary Award
-Illinois Wesleyan University, $12,000 Achievement Award, $1500 Loan (insreasing every year), work-study grant.

UVA has the Jefferson Scholar award (full scholarship, 2 or 3 int'ls per year), but it's super hard to get.

UW-Madison, I think, has the minority scholarship thing, but not sure if int'ls can get it.

Truman State is very affordable. The total cost is about $17000 and I think they have the full scholarship, but u gotta apply early.