Help me make my next step in life

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: Help me make my next step in life
By Rickjames (Rickjames) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 10:59 pm: Edit

I am a community college student and a basketball player

my gpa this year is gonna be around 3.0 or more
my gpa last year was 2.2 unfurtunetly(sad thing is that I actually took easier classes and less credits)-family problems

I'm only about 1 quarter away from getting my AA degree but I'm gonna go to CC for 2 or 3 more quarters and finish off playing basketball there, as well as raise my grades a little bit.

my background is somewhat messed up. ever since 6th grade I have never atteneded same school for more than 2 years. I moved from my home country to central europe, than moved to IL and now ended up in WA. The only positive about that is that I learned 5-6 languages in the process. Untill now I have never really fully adopted to educational systems since every country(schools) was different. I also had to take care of my mother who was with me for most of these years and I don't regret that but it did get in my way. My fatehr supported me financialy from home but neither of my parents speak english so I pretty much had to take care of things.

I'm not sure how far my little basketball career is gonna get me but I would like to know if I have any chance of gettin into any schools in WA such as Western Washington U. WSU, U of W, Seattle Univ.

Purdue is also an option since I have lot of old friends down there, schools in Florida and Oregon I will also consider.

any suggestions and comments are appreciated, just looking for some help

thanks in advance...

By Rickjames (Rickjames) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 11:09 pm: Edit

my major was business so far by the way but I want to change it to something like liberal arts