Good Urban Liberal Arts Colleges??

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: Good Urban Liberal Arts Colleges??
By Thenarrator (Thenarrator) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 08:38 pm: Edit

could someone list some good *urban* Liberal Arts Collges? I've been living in NYC and i always have, do, and will love the metropolitain envioronment more than rural ones.

I am a somewhat concientious/dedicated student with a 94.5 avg, 1310 (640v/670m-going for 1400+ next time), and numerous ECs in music (i'm a dedicated clarinetist at the esteemed LaGuardia "fame" school), Model city council, college class, Social Action Club, and hopefully founder of a MUN.

I want to study politics and economics (Law school one day) at a good liberal arts college. However, most of the exemplary ones (Williams, Colgate, Hamilton, Oberlin) are located in rural areas/small towns. Although i am keeping an open mind about location (for i haven't really experienced rural life), i am too much in love with NYU and urban life. I'm very interested at Columbia and U of Chicago, but they will be quite a bit of a reach for me.

Thus, my question: Are there any good LACs out there with strong politics/econ programs in Urban cities that i might have a chance at?

Thanks

By Fakeplastictree (Fakeplastictree) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 08:46 pm: Edit

Take a look at some of the LAC's in Boston. I know there's more than what I can think of right now, since I can only come up with Wellesley and Emerson. Hmmm...Occidental is in Los Angeles. Barnard is in New York. Claremont McKenna is supposed to have great politics/econ programs, but Claremont is further away from LA (close though I think).
Carolyn???

By Sooky6 (Sooky6) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 09:12 pm: Edit