Better school for an English Major going into Advertising (?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: Better school for an English Major going into Advertising (?
By Volcomizedgrl (Volcomizedgrl) on Monday, April 19, 2004 - 10:30 pm: Edit

Currently I'm in a dilemma as to which school I should choose to attend. I'm a transfer student from Pasadena CC, and I got into the following schools:

UCSB (Eng. Major)
UCR (Eng. Major)
Cal Pomona (Business Admin. major)
San Diego State (Business Admin. major)

I still need to hear from UCI, UCLA, and UCSD, but the deadline for Cal State is May 1st, leaving me less than 2 weeks. Ideally I would like to attend UCI, but I'm afraid my impatience is getting to the best of me. I'm an English major for the UC schools, and admitted as a Business Administration major to the two Cal State's, but my prime objective is to go into marketing/advertising. Can anyone give me some helpful advice as to what colleges are best for my future goals? (Note: I know marketing is mainly about experience so a college that has good internships would be greatly useful)

By Carolyn (Carolyn) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 11:10 am: Edit