UCI Vs UCSD Vs UCLA Political Science

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: UCI Vs UCSD Vs UCLA Political Science
By Mocksimus (Mocksimus) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 03:14 pm: Edit

I am a junior transfer student from california community college. I was wondering which school has the most prestigous political science program. I have been told that UCSD is a top 5 program and was wondering if it is this well respected. I hope to go to law school in fall 06 and work behind the scenes in politics, so any information regarding which school with a degree in poltical science will look good on my resume is appreciated.

By Mocksimus (Mocksimus) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 11:53 pm: Edit

bump

By Rana (Rana) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 10:44 am: Edit

In just about everything, including PoliSci, UCLA has the better academic rep. It also has the best overall campus life of the three campuses you mentioned. If the choice is between those three schools, UCLA is the best regarded program. That said, UCSD is really gaining a good reputation for its academics. PoliSci will be really strong there and campus life, while not as dynamic as UCLA's, will still be more interesting than UCI. UCI has solid academic programs, but the school has very little campus life to speak of. It is almost entirely a commuter school and I think the place suffers for it. But if money and location make UCI your only option, it is better to go there than Cal State LB or Fullerton. Where are you a transfer student from? Have you already been accepted to these three schools or are these what you think are your best options for the future?

By Mocksimus (Mocksimus) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 02:01 pm: Edit

I am in at UCSD , UCI I was given prelimanry admissions as a transfer(waitin for final notice) and UCLA I am waiting.

By Mocksimus (Mocksimus) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 02:41 pm: Edit