Stanford or Columbia?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: Stanford or Columbia?
By Xonx34 (Xonx34) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 02:04 pm: Edit

My top choices are Stanford, Columbia, Cornell and Berkeley, though the latter two I think I've ruled out, based on the former two.

I love NYC. I love Columbia. I love the social life and the buzz thats always around.

My problem is that I think I'm an engineer. Stanford is way better in that respect that Fu.

How do you guys suggest I go about picking? I'm really lost.

By Deferreddude (Deferreddude) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 02:14 pm: Edit

I think the choice is more than clear. Even if you weren't going for engineering, Stanford would be the best choice. But since you are actually going for engineering, the choice hands down is STANFORD! The Bay Area is a much more hospitable place than NYC, and it doesn't get freezing cold in the wintertime. The social life in the San Francisco Bay Area, coupled with the exciting atmosphere of Berkeley across the bay, is MUCH more vibrant in my opinion than New York.
I congratulate your acceptance to so many wonderful schools, and hope that you are happy wherever you go. If Columbia is indeed very appealing to you and you are compelled to go there, I definitely applaud your decision. Though Stanford is more prestigious, Columbia is also a great school that would meet your needs. But if you want my personal advice, go to Stanford!

P.S. Good luck wherever you end up(hopefully Stanford)

By Masterchris (Masterchris) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 02:19 pm: Edit

Stanford all the way.

By Subtrunks (Subtrunks) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 02:28 pm: Edit