Don't want to be musician but want to stay involved in music

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: April 2004 Archive: Don't want to be musician but want to stay involved in music
By Theo (Theo) on Tuesday, March 30, 2004 - 04:06 pm: Edit

I play violin. I don't want to be a music major, yet I want to go to a college that has a music program and ensemble I can join, but not somewhere where the program is so good that I won't be able to make it, or I'll be overwhelmed. I'm not an amazing prodigy, it's more of a hobby. Does anyone have any suggestions?

By Shennie (Shennie) on Tuesday, March 30, 2004 - 04:31 pm: Edit

You should look for midsize to large schools that are not particularly well known for producing a lot of music performance majors but also have an orchestra program. Smaller schools may not have orchestra, although some have excellent ones. Avoid schools with well known conservatory type programs such as Oberlin, Northwestern, Rice, etc. The other thing you want to look at is the quality of the orchestra at schools you are considering and what your expectations are. My son is a violist who plays in a very good youth orchestra. He, too, wants to continue to play his instrument but not major in music. He wants to play in a group that is close to or better in quality than his youth orchestra. We have talked to lots of kids from our youth orchestra who have gone off to schools and been disappointed with the quality of the school orchestra. These are usually small schools. However, if you will be happy playing in any kind of orchestra then any school with an orchestra program should be suitable.