Which one would you choose "Purdue or IIT"?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: March 2004 Archive: Which one would you choose "Purdue or IIT"?
By Inancbalci (Inancbalci) on Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 09:42 am: Edit

I'm an international student and I got acceptence from purdue, illinois institute of tech and some other schools. My top schools are IIT, purdue, Utexas at Austin, UW at seattle and Virginia tech.
For electrical engineering, which one would you choose?
Which one is the best?
Thanx...

By Drusba (Drusba) on Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 03:02 pm: Edit

At the undergraduate level, there really is no "best" from your list because all are very good. Schools tend to teach the same things at the undergraduate level. Looking at your list, I would say you need to consider some other factors of importance, such as: Is there one you really want to go to over others? Do you want big city (like IIT) or small college town (Purdue)? Do you want small school where profs all know you (IIT) or big school (all the others you list)? Which one is best financially (include travel costs) after subtracting scholarships and grants? Does weather matter (long cold winters at IIT and Purdue; constant rain in Seattle; warm most of time in Austin; and mild, fairly short winter at VTech and otherwise pleasant)?

I can tell you Austin is a very pretty and nice city (hardly recognize it as Texas). Chicago is my favorite city and home town and I think highly of IIT except that it has an ugly campus and is not in the best area in town (although easy to get elswhere). Lafayette/Purdue is down home Indiana and can be somewhat of a shock to an international. I have been to Seattle about 10 times, different times of the year, and it always rained, but you would be close to Microsoft. I have never actually seen VTech but Virginia as a whole is a beautiful state.

By Inancbalci (Inancbalci) on Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 06:22 pm: Edit