Admissions

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: March 2004 Archive: Admissions
By Lordmandean (Lordmandean) on Friday, March 12, 2004 - 07:50 am: Edit

Hi. Thanks for everyone help. This site is really great. I need some peoples opinions on my application. Some may already know that I am a law graduate from UK (2.2) and managed to top my class for two subjects in my year which has high Philosophy and Sociology content. I am now planning to do a new undergraduate degree in Philosophy and Economics. I have e-mailed a few universities but some say that they dont award second bachelors. I intend to write a letter if its possible to waive the second degree rule and give reasons why they should take me. I intend to send some recommendation letters written by my Proffesors. I would like to know if:

1) Would the colleges still insist on me sitting for SAT I and SAT II?
2) Should I enclose the application fee as technically I am trying to apply to the university?
3) I have spoken to some academics in my current university and they told me to write to the american universities. The worse that could happen is a 'No'as an answer. It also shows admissions that I am persistent and committed to enter their university and some might take it as a positive sign. What do you guys think?

Thank you!!!! You guys are great!

By Coureur (Coureur) on Friday, March 12, 2004 - 10:34 am: Edit

Since you already have a degree you will certainly be an unconventional applicant. Thus the SAT requirement may be waived, but my guess is there is no rule - each school will have to decide for itself whether you need to take the exam.

I would not send an application fee until the school has agreed to accept your application. Right now you are still convincing them of why you should be allowed to apply.