Communication/Publishing-Editing

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: Communication/Publishing-Editing
By Srhurz (Srhurz) on Monday, September 22, 2003 - 08:03 pm: Edit

Anybody know of East Coast schools with particularly good Communication depts with depth in Publishing/Editing? Many programs don't even offer courses in this area. Our daughter is interested in magazine/book editing and would like a program that encourages internships. Any advice? She would love NYU but it may be well beyond her academic reach. She is a junior with a solid 3.5 GPA and strong extracurricular.

By Carolyn (Carolyn) on Monday, September 22, 2003 - 08:33 pm: Edit

I'm a freelance magazine/book editor and writer. I'm not sure there are many degree programs specifically for book publishing, but a solid journalism/communications program should offer plenty of class work on editing skills - even though the classes may not be labeled as "editing" classes. I attended Syracuse University's Newhouse School which has a degree specifically in magazine journalism that would provide the skills necessary for working as an editor down the road. Many Syracuse alumni work in the book and magazine publishing industry. Boston University would be another possibility.

By Uschicka (Uschicka) on Monday, September 22, 2003 - 11:05 pm: Edit

Carolyn- I'm interested in becoming a book editor, but I have no idea how to approach that. Right now I go to USC, and am planning on switching to a communications major from business. Is there anyway I can become an editor (or get hired) by being a comm major? I really don't want to be an english major and read dull, impossible books from the 1400s. Or is there any other major I can take to become an editor? Thanks!

By Srhurz (Srhurz) on Tuesday, September 23, 2003 - 07:40 am: Edit

Carolyn,