I need to find safety schools!!!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: I need to find safety schools!!!
By Tsuriken (Tsuriken) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 08:36 pm: Edit

ok...
this is the poop on the scoop.
I am an international student who graduated in a small international school in Guatemala. (korean by birth though) My GPA is about 3.6, and my SAT score is (lets just say its going to be 1450). I was wondering if anybody in this forum knows any good safety liberal arts schools. Location and size does not really matter. I am having a hard time finding a safety school because I am just relying on usnews.com and people have told me how unreliable that rank is. In addition, I need financial aid, I can only afford about $15,000 per year. Please help me since I'm getting all paranoid.

By Sarcasmgirl (Sarcasmgirl) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 09:50 pm: Edit

Princeton Review's Counselor-o-Matic is pretty good. It let's narrow down colleges according to location, size, type, etc. and also tells you which ones are reaches, matches and safties.

http://www.princetonreview.com/college/research/

By Wjk323 (Wjk323) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 04:34 am: Edit

how many people use the "counselor-o-matic"
hehe...thanks for the link Sarcasmgirl, but I'm a little skeptic since it listed Swarthmore as a safety.

By Mstee (Mstee) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 11:44 am: Edit