Which colleges have very rigorous academic programs?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: Which colleges have very rigorous academic programs?
By Blessed1985 (Blessed1985) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 05:16 pm: Edit

Hi
My name is Nicole Clyne and I'm currently a freshman at Temple University. I feel as though I've shortchanged myself and I want a challenge. I won't say I'm a genius but I do pretty well in school. I'm from St.Lucia and there I got the highest grades in my CXC examinations and was one of the top 25 for my A levels. (I hope that helped to give some measure of my intelligence)
I want to transfer to a school where my mind can definitely be put to the test. Do you have any suggestions? I was thinking about Cornell.

Thanks in advance

By Mstee (Mstee) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 05:43 pm: Edit

University of Chicago.

By Spiffybrownboy (Spiffybrownboy) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 06:39 pm: Edit

Cornell and Chicago definitely work their students hard, as do JHU, MIT, Tufts, just to name a few.

By Sac (Sac) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 07:02 pm: Edit

Swarthmore

By Perry (Perry) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 07:44 pm: Edit

There are many, many schools that offer a highly challenging education. Aside from the ivies and Swarthmore, consider Amherst, Williams, Wellesley, Bowdoin, Haveford, Reed, Washington University, etc. You also may want to consider some of the honors programs that Universities offer to high performing students. If you haven't already, go to the public Library or your local bookstore and look through some of the college guidebooks. Good luck to you.

By Blessed1985 (Blessed1985) on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 07:55 pm: Edit