Debate team --- the only team?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: Debate team --- the only team?
By Worth2try (Worth2try) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 09:40 pm: Edit

My high school has an excellent debate team (national level) which I would love to join...but they said that we can't be on a sport team if we join it. Does your school does this? It really upsets me, I am very athletic and somewhat good in basketball, and will probably make the team. I am a freshman by the way. Also, if teams meet everyday afterschool, then I will have to miss club meetings, right?

By Me1 (Me1) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 10:39 pm: Edit

At my school, you can be on sports & debate. Debate doesn't have that many mtgs. Of course it's a lot of work, but it's up to you to meet w/your partner & practice w/others on your own (as opposed to at official mtgs).

By Congresssenator (Congresssenator) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 11:20 pm: Edit

Pick one to stick with. It's the *commitment* which counts. I balanced Violin, a sport, and Debate freshman year. Something had to go after that-- and the sport went, though I wasn't bad at it. I just didn't enjoy it anymore.

That said, I would go for debate. I'm not biased, really! ;)

By Worth2try (Worth2try) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 06:38 pm: Edit

Thx for the replies. Okay I am gonna try out for basketball and then if I dont make it I am gonna do debate next year if they let me.

By Crnchycereal (Crnchycereal) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 07:15 pm: Edit

Well, if your school's debate team is on the national level, then I'm assuming that you really WOULDN'T be able to balance debate with a sport. From what I've heard, teams on the national circuit are so hardcore that it consumes every part of their lives.

By Worth2try (Worth2try) on Wednesday, September 24, 2003 - 09:19 pm: Edit