History major having a hard time

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: History major having a hard time
By Andyd (Andyd) on Wednesday, September 10, 2003 - 12:13 pm: Edit

I am a New York resident, and I am looking for schools in the northeast and western United States that offer history. However, the GPA requirement starts at 2.0. I know there are schools out there other than my state's schools (which I am applying too) that offer this. Anybody know of any schools or a precise guide to search for them???

Thanks

By Carolyn (Carolyn) on Wednesday, September 10, 2003 - 04:11 pm: Edit

I have a list of history schools but I'm confused - are you saying your GPA is less than 2.0 and that you're looking for a school that will take you with that GPA?

Assuming your answer is yes, here are some schools with less selective entrance requrements (although less than a 2.0 is going to make some of these reaches) that have decent history departments:
SUNY Brockport
Bellarmine (KY)
Bridegewater College (MA)
Central Connecticut
Misericordia (PA)
St. Joseph's College (NY)
Wilkes College (PA)
CUNY -City College
Canisius NY
Elmira NY
Juniata PA
Hartwick NY
Manhattanville NY
Millersville PA
Northeastern MA
Western Maryland College MD
Wittenberg OH
Hiram OH

By Andyd (Andyd) on Thursday, September 11, 2003 - 02:42 pm: Edit

No, it's above a 2.0, but less than a 2.5.
I definetely regret some of my choices during those years, but thanks for the help. Do you know of any out west (Colorado, northern CA, oregon, and around there) by any chance?

By Ckr1147 (Ckr1147) on Thursday, September 11, 2003 - 03:05 pm: Edit