Many Close Calls. Choice-making Assistance Needed

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Search and Selection: September 2003 Archive: Many Close Calls. Choice-making Assistance Needed
By Toeleightoe (Toeleightoe) on Friday, August 29, 2003 - 12:33 pm: Edit

I (obviously) need some help with a few college decisions, but there are a few extenuating circumstances, so PLEASE consider the following information with your response(s):

I'm a Sophomore in High School, but I've also been doing some high-level research in Astrophysics and Cosmology. I've published 3 papers in various journals, most notably Scientific American (the latest of them). The most recent paper inspired my main mentor to do some work which puts him in the running for next year's Nobel Prize. I've got a 3.9 from a top-5 (nationally) Private School, and have been heavily recruited by MIT, Yale and Stanford (though MIT was the only one that seemed really serious). All 3 have given me unconditional offers, if I want to go there next year (as has NYU). I took Graduates' School courses at NYU in Mathematics last year, and plan to do the same this year. I'm in honors English and History, as well as College Physics (at Columbia).

Basically, it's a situation which I'm happy (happy? THRILLED!) to find myself in, but leaves me with a few major decisions:

#1: Do I decide to stay in High School, or should I take the jump right away?

#2: If I go straight to College, where do I go? Do I choose a well-rounded school, or do I go with a Math-and-Science school? Where would I get more research funding?

#3: If I stay in High School, how do I stay on the radar screens of these (and other) Universities? Will my continued work be enough to sustain my position?

I really appreciate the help.

By Toeleightoe (Toeleightoe) on Friday, August 29, 2003 - 05:26 pm: Edit

Sorry, I really need advice soon, so I'm bumping this. I know it's annoying, and I apologize.